Confessions of a Reluctant Stamper

 

Until recently, I scrapbooked only with paper, including die-cuts, and embellishments made of fibers, plastic, wood, etc.

But I did not stamp and I had plenty of reasons not to.

Then I became a Close To My Heart consultant. As I played with my upline’s stamps and the ones that came in my starter kit, Close To My Heart took away every excuse I had for not including stamping on my layouts.

1. Stamps are too heavy to carry to crops and too bulky to store.

Close To My Heart’s stamps are flexible acrylic that you mount as you need them on a lightweight acrylic block. They store in plastic envelopes less than a half inch thick. They are easy to carry and compact to store.

2. I would never be able to stamp images straight or line them up correctly so I’d spoil my layouts.

CTMH’s stamps and blocks are clear so I can see exactly where I’m stamping and if it’s straight. I can even make sure I have complete ink coverage so I get clear, perfect images every time.

3. I don’t want to deal with “fussy cutting” — trimming around intricate images.

CTMH partnered with Cricut maker Provo Craft to release cartridges available exclusively from independent consultants like me — Art Philosophy and Artiste. With the cartridges, you can cut out many images that have a matching stamp to put on it. The stamp carrying sheet tells you what size to cut the image. In the case of the newest cart, Artiste, it even tells you which page of the manual the image is on.

4. I already spend a lot of money on scrapbooking — I don’t really want to add another expense to my hobby.

Every month, CTMH offers a stamp set for $5 with a $50 purchase. If I’m buying other supplies anyway, it makes sense to get the Stamp of the Month while I’m at it. And for special occasions, like National Stamping Month in September, they offer an additional set of stamps. The It’s Your Day set is a $40 value but you can order it from me for $5 when you make a $35 purchase. The offer ends Sunday, Sept. 30.

I had to have the It’s Your Day double set because the stamps in it fit my life. I am a journalist. I was anxious to use the “Don’t quote me on that”, “True story” and quotation marks stamps, among others in the set.

Below is a  layout that I am extremely proud of for lots of reasons! It tells part of story of when I quit my beloved newspaper job to take a new direction in my life, and it includes a highlight of my career as a freelance journalist.  It’s a two-page LO. The “Life” page folds out to the right revealing the newspaper page behind it and a photo from my last day at work on the right.

 

 

 

Close To My Heart Stella Paper pack, black and Colonial White cardstock, It’s Your Day stamp, Token alphabet, black embroidery floss, Lagoon, Olive, Cocoa and Tulip inks

2 responses to “Confessions of a Reluctant Stamper

  1. Pingback: Clean and Simple Layouts Let Photos Shine | Scrapping Is Heart Work·

  2. Pingback: Meow you doin’, cutie? | Scrapping Is Heart Work·

Leave a Reply

