Ghosts of Christmas cards past

When I was younger, like in my late teens and early 20s, I would purchase a box of stock Christmas cards and mail them to the people on my list.

That’s not my deep dark secret.

What I am ashamed to say is that I haven’t sent Christmas cards the past two years.

I realize my family is probably unhappy with me because I have two years of my daughter’s school and sports pictures that I’m holding out on them.

My family likes to look at pictures. Who doesn’t?

The reason I haven’t sent cards is that I told myself I had to make 40 or so cards by hand. And I got overwhelmed by the monotony and the time commitment and I didn’t finish. So I didn’t send ANY cards.

I am not into card-making enough to dedicate the time and money to something I fear people are going to throw away.

I know what comes with the handmade cards I receive: Major guilt. I don’t want to “keep” them — clutter. But I’m so guilty to throw them away. Argh! My grandmother pasted a lot of her cards in a scrapbook. I’m not into that, as much as I like scrapbooking. That’s not my style.

However, I WILL keep a card from certain beloved older people as a handwriting sample because “they’ll be dead someday.” I am a twisted individual.

Because I felt it was fitly chosen, I kept this cute mouse card from my dear friend, Kaye, whom I made a lot of memories with in a short time. (I hope the context doesn’t make it sound like something happened to her. She’s alive and well as far as I know!)

This year, I have found a storage solution for keeping greeting cards like Kaye’s: Close To My Heart’s True Fit Folios (X1404). These White Daisy cardstock file folders fit in 12 x 12 Memory Protectors, right behind your Christmas, birthday, school days or other layout to hold cards or memorabilia that won’t fit your page for whatever reason.

When it comes to Christmas cards that are fit to scrapbook, I guess I’d rather get a postcard-like card with a family photo on it. If I’m going to scrapbook something, I want to see the people.

And that’s what I’ll talk about tomorrow: taking a family Christmas photo.

Don’t forget to track back and enter the giveaway to win gift tags and a copy of “Cropped To Death,” the new scrapbooking mystery by Christina Freeburn.

One response to “Ghosts of Christmas cards past

  1. Place a Close To My Heart order by midnight Sunday, Dec. 2 and receive something FREE from me:
    Spend $25, choose a Monogram stamp OR a package of Sparkles OR Opaques Adhesive Gems FREE
    spend $50, get a FREE inkpad of your choice
    spend $75, get a FREE paper pack of your choice
    spend $100, get a FREE stamp set of your choice (excluding Alphabets)
    Buy any Workshop on the Go kit and get a FREE 2 x 2 MyAcrylix Block
    Buy the Cricut Artiste or Art Philosophy bundles and get FREE shipping
    Note: If you place a qualifying order through my CTMH website, do not choose your free item there. Notify me directly of your order and your free selection. I have to order them separately because this is my personal special. All CTMH specials apply too so you can get the December Stamp of the Month set for $5 with a $50 order.

Leave a Reply

