A Boss Christmas Photo

Last year, I tried to take a family Christmas photo but I couldn’t pull it off. I think I don’t have the right lens to frame it up.

Here’s what I wanted to do … feel free to steal my idea.

White T-shirts, blue jeans, red bandannas either stuck in a back pocket or tied around a ponytail, etc. and tied on the necks of our dogs. Everyone photographed from the back as a group. Sentiment: Merry Christmas, babies! or Have a rockin’ Christmas.

Here’s my best attempt.

Maybe I’ll try again this year with a pro photographer.

A good time to try is at the Arthurdale Heritage Festival of Trees on Saturday, Dec. 1. Photographer Steven Marra will be there to take photos from noon-4 p.m. Sign up for a sitting with him here. The sitting is free and your photo will be made available online for you to order prints, cards, etc.

Whether you are taking the photo yourself or sitting for a professional, here are some tips to prepare you for the family Christmas card picture photo session.

From my experience, it’s best to make sure young children have had a nap and some food before the sitting. Sleepy, cranky, hungry children aren’t always cooperative. Think of something ahead of time that makes your child laugh — that will help get a more natural smile than just “say cheese”.

Years ago, I interviewed photographer Becky Jones, asking her to give people advice on looking good in a portrait.  She said no one thing makes someone photogenic. Beautiful people can sometimes take bad pictures, and average people can sometimes take a beautiful picture, she said. If you’re comfortable with yourself, that will shine through in the photo and you’ll smile more naturally.

When you get a photo, you might want to include it in a family newsletter – the subject of tomorrow’s post.

One response to “A Boss Christmas Photo

  1. Place a Close To My Heart order by midnight Sunday, Dec. 2 and receive something FREE from me:
    Spend $25, choose a Monogram stamp OR a package of Sparkles OR Opaques Adhesive Gems FREE
    spend $50, get a FREE inkpad of your choice
    spend $75, get a FREE paper pack of your choice
    spend $100, get a FREE stamp set of your choice (excluding Alphabets)
    Buy any Workshop on the Go kit and get a FREE 2 x 2 MyAcrylix Block
    Buy the Cricut Artiste or Art Philosophy bundles and get FREE shipping
    Note: If you place a qualifying order through my CTMH website, do not choose your free item there. Notify me directly of your order and your free selection. I have to order them separately because this is my personal special. All CTMH specials apply too so you can get the December Stamp of the Month set for $5 with a $50 order.

Leave a Reply

