Pattern book assists soccer page design

Springtime soccer is starting in my community. I made this layout of a soccer team group photo and snapshots for a woman who asked me to make her scrapbook. (I’ve blurred the images of her daughter and other children with the smudge tool in Photoshop before posting the photos online.)

Soccer1

 

 

 

 

 

 

Soccer2

Inspiration for these pages came from a photo in Close To My Heart’s Reflections How-To Scrapbook Program. It has 100 patterns for scrapbook layouts — more if you consider how you can turn the pages on their sides to see the sketches in a new way.

refelctions2

Here’s what I did:

I made the layout two pages instead of one so I could accommodate the team photo plus some candid snapshots.

I used sandpaper to scuff the black card stock bases.

I turned the title to go across the top of the page instead of up the side. I played up the red in the team uniforms.

Staying on the “ball” theme, I used the Token Alphabet stamp set to make the subject’s name in the title.

The “Splendid”, “Aweso{me}” and “Fun” sentiments stamped in the title are from some discontinued stamp sets.

Instead of photos cut into circles, I cut hexagons from white paper, I inked the edges with Desert Sand Ink to resemble dirt smudges/grass stains and arranged them on the second page to make a background for my photos.

All of the Close To My Heart products I’ve mentioned (except where indicated) are available for purchase through my business website: cynthiamccloud.ctmh.com.

6 responses to “Pattern book assists soccer page design

  1. :::sigh::: I miss soccer… we don’t have access to it close by us out here in the sticks… but I sure did enjoy being a soccer mom when it was closer. 🙂

Leave a Reply

