Technique Tuesday: Treat Cups

losttoothA Treat Cup isn’t limited to holding only m&ms or other small candies on a greeting card.

I use them as embellishments on scrapbooking layouts.

I made the Lost Tooth layout (and wouldn’t you know I found a better title — Tooth on the Loose — AFTER I completed it?!) for a customer (that’s why her child’s eyes are concealed.) I used a Treat Cup to hold the girl’s first lost tooth. I backed the cup with a circle of patterned paper and put a ring of coordinating cardstock around the cup and over the plastic “seam”. Then I decided to journal on another ring of White Daisy cardstock. I fiddled with the settings on my Cricut to cut the rings and hole for the Treat Cup. I glued  the whole thing to the base paper. I didn’t cut a hole in the base.

Only the White Daisy cardstock and the dotted green paper behind the treat cup is Close To My Heart (Dotty For You). Another manufacturer’s printed paper coordinated best with these photos, particularly the girl’s bedspread.

FrostyFunSm

More recently, I scrapped a winter scene of my sister-in-law and her little boy building a snowman. Actually, there’s more going on in those photos and I’ll tell the whole story in a future blog post, which is also about that layout. I used the Frosted paper pack and some coordinating cardstock plus the  Artbooking cartridge.

 

I backed the treat cup with a circle of snowflake-pFrostyDetail2Smatterned cardstock after I sprinkled in some Prisma Glitter, which, unfortunately, is no longer available from Close To My Heart. I would use some sparkling snow from a retailer. I adhered the snowman embellishment from the Artbooking cartridge behind the treat cup as if the cup was the bottom ball of the snowman. The Treat Cups ($3.95 for 10) are available while supplies last  until Jan. 31. The Treat Cups, Frosted paper and Artbooking cartridge are available for order on my shopping site, cynthiamccloud.ctmh.com.

Leave a Reply

