Grand Theft Layout: Scraplifting

Scraplifting is not a crime. I just couldn’t resist the pun.

Scraplifting is a cute name for copying a layout, technique, title or other crafty item that inspires you. There’s nothing wrong with it as long as you don’t try to gain something (like win a contest) by claiming it’s your original idea. Sometimes a product package or ad can inspire you with its colors or pattern or logo.

I, and some of the friends I crop with, find scrapping goes faster when we’re working from a template or pattern.

Here’s a one-page layout I made a few months ago for a customer. (Thasmudgedt’s why the faces in the photos are blurred.) I scraplifted elements of it from two different patterns.

The photos are of a little girl and her grandmother at a grandparents’ breakfast at her school. I used black cardstock for the base, lagoon cardstock and a piece of retired paper called Dotty For You for the page. The title is Sunset and Colonial White. The butterflies are Sorbet and Colonial White.

scraplift1For this one-page layout, I used a template from a how-to book called the Reflections Scrapbook Program. It is one of Close To My Heart’s six pattern books for scrapbook layouts.  I rotated it 90 degrees to the right and flipped the photos so my horizontal photo is on top. It is my strongest, or lead photo as they say in the newspaper business.

I scraplifted the title and the way it’s embellished with knotted baker’s twine from an example layout I saw on another page in the book.scraplift4

Close To My Heart sells four soft cover spiralbound how-to program books — Reflections, Magic, Cherish and Imagine — and two booklets of patterns called Make It From Your Heart Volumes I and II. We also have two books of greeting card templates called card confidence progams.

Magic shows how to make interactive layouts with pieces that move to reveal more photos or hidden journaling.

The pattern books tell you specifically how to cut each piece of cardstock or background and texture patterned paper for the layout. For my “Grand” layout, I didn’t use the cutting guides and chose to go my own way after the template helped me decide the orientation of the photos. You can choose to follow the instructions step-by-step and make a layout exactly like the one you see or you can rotate some of the elements (like I did) or make other changes to suit your personal scrapbooking style.

These how-to books also make it easier to get all the photos you want on a page. If I have six photos I want to include on a layout, I can find at a glance in the front of the books templates that have room for six photos. I like that.

From time to time, I plan to share in posts the inspiration behind some of my layouts. Where do YOU find inspiration? Product containers? Popular culture? Scrapping magazines?

Leave a Reply

