My first card challenge

I’m a scrapbooker. I don’t make many greeting cards. But occasionally, I’ll get inspired.

Today was one of those occasions. It’s my husband’s best friend’s birthday tomorrow. I figured if I was going to make a card, I might as well make it count so I found a card challenge: Fusion, and I decided to use one of Close To My Heart’s new paper packs that will be available Feb. 1: Timberline.

WoodgrainFusion2The color combination from the sketch reminded me of the Pittsburgh Steelers colors and the best friend likes that team. He also likes to fish so using that patterned paper from Timberline would combine two of his favorite hobbies.

Timberline coordinates with these cardstock colors: Goldrush (though I used Honey), Bamboo, Chocolate, Colonial White, Lagoon, Ponderosa Pine, Slate and Twilight. Among the patterns are a woodgrain, a tartan/plaid and a star chart. I used the woodgrain, inspired by the challenge photo, and I used the pattern on the reverse of that paper, which is printed with camping-themed images such as roasting marshmallows, bootprints, signs and more. gonefishingbdaycardI liked how the silver Durables Triangle Studs — coming in February but available now in the Cloud Nine Cardmaking Kit ($15 with a $35 purchase) — reminded me of fish hooks.  From Close To My Heart’s exclusive Artiste Cricut cartridge, I cut a banner to fit the coordinating “Oh Happy Day” sentiment stamped image and for the inside (not shown) I cut a cloud-shaped speech bubble from Honey cardstock for the Happy Birthday stamp that comes with the Cloud Nine kit. The “zip strip” above the “Oh Happy Day” sentiment is cut from the edge of a piece of the patterned paper and lists camping supplies.

A tip: I knew I was going to stamp on the banner I cut with the Cricut. So I removed the paper after cutting but left the cuthappyday banner stuck on the Cricut mat. Then I inked up my stamp with Cocoa and stamped the banner while it remained on the mat. The stickyness holds the banner in place so it doesn’t move while I’m stamping. You can also use a cracked or curled mat you don’t cut with anymore to hold your images while you stamp on them.

Below are two scrapbook layouts you can complete with the Timberline paper pack. I’ve been planning a s’mores layout for awhile and this paper will be perfect.

  14-ss-timberline-sw 14-ss-timberline-level-3

11 responses to “My first card challenge

  1. I just love reading about the thought process that goes into making a particular card…colors, Pittsburgh Steelers, Fishing…all combined to make a really interesting card…you should make them more often, you really know how to combine elements!

  2. FAB first challenge card Cynthia! LOVE your scrapbooking page too 🙂
    So glad you joined in the fun @ FUSION – hope to see you again soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

