’80s Inspiration

I grew up in the ’80s — Rainbow Brite, Lisa Frank, Smurfs, Cabbage Patch Kids were all in my toy box or on my Trapper Keeper binder for school. So when I saw the new Junebug and Stuck on You Puffies glitter stickers I thought of the puffy stickers I had growing up.

When I learned my first challenge as a new member of the Heart 2 Heart Challenges Design Team was “Something Old, Something New”, I thought these retro stickers would be perfect. The challenge is to use something old in a new way or paired with something new. I think I met the challenge in a few ways.

I found a photo of myself when I was 7 years old wearing my Care Bears swimsuit and Snoopy sunglasses. The colors and the hearts from the Care Bears and the Puffies stickers pretty much guaranteed I had to use the new Heartstrings paper pack. My base cardstock is Glacier, a new color. The title is cut from Canary (also new) and Hollyhock, which has been around awhile.

SmileSunshine

As I was gathering my supplies I found a scrap, the whole border actually, cut from a past National Scrapbooking Month campaign called Dotty For You. If you’re keeping track, that’s something old.

The title and the big piece of paper under the photo and mats are all cut from the Cricut Artbooking cartridge, which is “old” as in not newly released, but we still sell it. And they are used in a new way because the block of paper was a mini album page and the titles said My Sunshine and I cut off the My and Smiles and I cut off the S. The sun I cut from Sorbet cardstock with Artbooking reminded me of how I drew suns at that age. Be Yourself is also on that cartridge. I backed it with Silver Shimmer Trim.

I used current stamp sets to pull the page together. My journaling strips are scribbles stamped in Pixie, a new color, with Oodles of Doodles. I stamped the year the photo was taken, 1984, in Slate with Keyboard Uppercase Alphabet. The “Sweet” is also in Pixie and from the Sweet and Lovely set, one of three that come with the Cricut Artiste collection. The “Love this” embellishment is stamped in Ruby with an retired stamp set called It’s Your Day that was offered as a special campaign.

I placed the Puffies stickers and the Lagoon Hearts Washi Tape last.

The one addition I might make to the page is to add some clouds in the top right corner. I’ll do this when the Rain or Shine stamp set I ordered arrives. There’s a rainbow in that set that just screams “Care Bears” to me. If I update my page, I’ll be sure to share it here.

I had a lot of fun remembering my childhood and preserving this memory of some of my favorite pop culture interests and a time when I was carefree. (I considered titling it, “Look! I once had thigh gap!”)

I hope you’ll scoot over to Heart 2 Heart Challenges and check out how other Design Team members interpreted the assignment.

H2H.Header

11 responses to “’80s Inspiration

    • Thanks! I had a lot of fun remembering the ’80s. It was a great time to grow up — but maybe everyone thinks that about their childhood.

    • For a split second I thought “I should use decorative edge scissors on this!” But I just couldn’t. I think I don’t even have any of those anymore. 🙂

  1. Great mix of old vs new products! I agree with your comment above re the decorative scissors, though… those are too far off the map, even for this challenge 🙂 Love it!

    • Thanks! There was so much I left out! Poochie, Garbage Pail Kids, Shirt Tales, Jem, Gummy Bears the cartoon, The Rescuers Down Under, the Littles, the Land Before Time, She-Ra, Fraggle Rock … . I could go on and on. This page was so much fun I’m going to have to scrap more of my childhood photos!

Leave a Reply

