Clean and Simple Layouts Let Photos Shine

My assignment for Heart 2 Heart Challenges this week: Create a clean and simple project.

I define clean and simple as:

1. Quick to put together.

2. No stamping. (I said I was a reluctant stamper.)

3. No bling or other elements that distract from the photos.

I wanted my photos of Christmas light displays at Oglebay Resort’s Winter Festival of Lights to be the stars of my page.

mergedlights

I’d give myself a B+/A-. It’s a little busier than I’d like. My original idea was a black cardstock base, photos matted with white cardstock and a simple string of Christmas lights cut with the Cricut. I couldn’t find the image I wanted. So I went with the stars photo mat from the Artbooking cartridge for the left page and another stars border from a different key I cut 4 times for the right-hand page. I cut them from Glacier cardstock. I feel they mimic the construction of some of the light displays we saw such as drive-through tunnels of lights.

I so badly wanted to bling it up with some gems or silver Shimmer Trim. But I resisted.

I used Flip Flaps to include photos of lots of displays. And I used two cards from the Wanderful A la Carte Picture My Life pocket scrapbooking program. I took the photo for the blog before I journaled about our family trip to see the lights and which displays were our favorites.

I cut the title from White Daisy cardstock using the Artbooking (the winter is from “Walking in a winter wonderland” premade title) and Artiste cartridges. It looked really flat in plain white so I first took a Golden Yellow ShinHan marker and colored the bottoms. I was going for an ombre effect that faded up each letter. It wasn’t what I had in mind, so I applied Goldrush ink with a sponge dauber, which we now sell in a value pack so you can get one for each color ink! I’m really happy with the result, which ties the sunset in the main photo on that page to the trim of the journaling spot on the opposite page. (I took the photo for the challenge blog before I made these little changes and journaled.)

Here’s the final result in my album:

DSCF5074 DSCF5075

If I can help you learn techniques to get this look on your scrapbook pages and cards, please don’t hesitate to ask me. I’d be happy to show you how to construct a page with Flip Flaps.

Updated 2/8: Often I finish a page and put it in my album and then I get an idea for how I could’ve done it better or differently. I wish I had cut the border from the left page diagonally and put the lower right-hand corner on the right-hand page and not used the other star borders. It would’ve been the perfect CAS look I was going for and it would’ve looked pulled together — like parentheses around the page elements.

Please head over to Heart 2 Heart and check out the beautiful projects created by my fellow team members.

 

2 responses to “Clean and Simple Layouts Let Photos Shine

    • Thank you. How it turned out was more like what I had in mind when I went in with the marker. The dauber was better for making it fade from more concentrated color to lighter.

Leave a Reply

