Double challenge: Resolutions and color

In this layout, I put my photos where my mouth is. I am always encouraging women to make sure they’re in some of the photos on their layouts. Moms, as their family’s historians, often overlook the pieces missing from their scrapbooks: themselves. It’s our history, too, and we should be a main character not a footnote.

It is difficult to do a layout only about myself; it’s just as hard to ask someone to take the camera at an event so I can be in some of the photos. But it’s necessary so my story gets told. And there’s a particular story it’s time I told.

A couple of weeks ago Close To My Heart founder Jeanette Lynton started issuing a series of weekly challenges. The first was to make a layout about a resolution and post it to Instagram and/or the Close To My Heart Facebook page marked with the hashtag #jrlcreativechallenge. Look up those hashtags to see projects made that week and in subsequent weeks. Close To My Heart announces a new challenge every Monday on the company’s Facebook page.

Around the same time, the Heart 2 Heart Challenge was to make a project featuring the color assigned to your birth month.

My birthday is in March so my color was Thistle.

On Jan. 20, I began online classes for a degree in journalism.

I had a great idea to take a “first day of school photo” of myself at my desk and make a layout for both challenges with Thistle. (It wasn’t my week to contribute art to Heart 2 Heart and I’m not eligible to be considered for the contest as a Design Team member — I just wanted to do it for fun!)

take2

I used a retired paper called Laughing Lola because the purple in it is a good match to Thistle.

I also used a sticker from the Base & Bling Journey Style Sheet and the “C” sticker from the Base & Bling Signature Style Sheet and gold sequins. I cut the College title with Plantin Schoolbook Cricut cartridge so I could put a shadow on the letters, and the take 2 subtitle with the Artbooking Cricut cartridge. The journaling spot is a scrap of a Picture My Life card from the Wanderful A la Carte set.

Updated 2/8: I remembered an embellishment I wanted to include so I added it after I published this post. Using archival black ink I stamped on Lagoon Hearts Washi Tape using the Your Own Kind of Wonderful stamp set. Here’s how it looks now:

take2again

Even though January’s Challenges have closed, I hope you’ll check out all the beautiful artwork at Heart 2 Heart and get inspired. New challenges are coming up in February!

 

2 responses to “Double challenge: Resolutions and color

  1. Pingback: Organization tip: Think inside the box | Scrapping Is Heart Work·

Leave a Reply

