For the love of paper

Close To My Heart paper, how do I love thee? Let me count the ways.

CTMH sells the best patterned paper on the market. I’ve had flimsy store-bought brands that rip and separate when I take them off the Cricut mat. Not our papers.

It is cardstock weight. I’ve used it as my base in this week’s project for Heart 2 Heart Challenges: Share the love of your favorite CTMH product.

And you might remember when I used it to make cupcake boxes for a school bake sale. It cuts cleanly and folds crisply and holds a shape for a card, box, flower, pinwheel, rosette or other 3-D item.

It is color-coordinated with our inks and cardstock. Each paper packet has six sheets, two each of three double-sided designs plus some 12×12 pieces of coordinating cardstock.

The prints and colors are on-trend. Pantone’s Color of the Year for 2015 is Marsala. Our Barn Red is a close match. Our papers have featured prints that include chevrons, Scrabble tiles, country gingham and calico, barn wood and comic-strip/graphic novel images.

It never fails to inspire me!

hoedown2

For my project this week at Heart 2 Heart, I used the Hopscotch paper pack to scrap photos of one of my daughter’s past dance recital costumes. The class danced to “Hoedown Throwdown” by Miley Cyrus. I started with a vision for the page that included printing lyrics on strips of paper. As the page evolved, I discarded that idea.

I matted my photos with Ponderosa Pine and Glacier cardstock — two colors in the Hopscotch scheme.

Everything is CTMH except the banner, which was cut using the Country Life Cricut Cartridge, and the word “Recital”, which is from the Twinkle Toes Cricut cart.

I separated the Flaxen Extra-Thick Twine into groups of fewer strands to hang the banner. I also used the twine to make French knots for the center of the pinwheels.

I popped up the banner and pinwheels with 3-D foam tape.

The “Throwdown” part of the title is stamped in Ponderosa Pine ink using the Urban Alphabet stamp set. The date is stamped using the Keyboard Uppercase alphabet.

Visit Heart 2 Heart for some inspiration, and play along with the February challenges.

2 responses to “For the love of paper

Leave a Reply

