Welcome to the world, baby girl

This week’s assignment at Heart 2 Heart Design Challenges  is a toughie! But there’s LOTS of room for interpretation, as you’ll see if you visit the blog to how the other Design Team members took it on. The good news is there’s no wrong answer!

The challenge is “What a Wonderful World” … so for the past two weeks I have had Louis Armstrong’s song going through my head! Not that it’s a bad thing; that song and his voice are quite lovely. Maybe images in the song — red roses, rainbows, babies, friends — will inspire you.

I was stumped. I don’t have any photos of around-the-world trips and I don’t have any landscape photography that I’d want to make the focus of the page. My husband suggested I use photos of our daughter sitting in grass for the first time, reaching out and discovering the grass. Bingo!

Pansies

The title is a card from the Wanderful (travel-themed) Picture My Life a la carte set. I altered it by trimming off the top and bottom borders and re-rounding the corners. I cut it in half so I could add “WIDE” stamped in Outdoor Denim using the Keyboard Uppercase alphabet

stamp set and “Wonderful” from the Your Own Kind of Wonderful stamp set. I had to mask part of the stamp using a Post-It to get just the “Wonderful” part to print. You could stamp the whole sentiment and then cut out the word you want. The whole image says “Always be your own kind of wonderful.”

Keeping with the Wanderful theme, I used mainly colors that coordinate in that paper pack: Crystal Blue, Gypsy, Colonial White, Honey.

The clouds are from the Rain or Shine stamp set. The large one is stamped in Glacier, but you could use Crystal Blue. It is cut at 1 inch using the CTMH exclusive Cricut Artiste cartridge. All four exclusive cartridges have images that coordinate with stamps. The small cloud is cut at 3/4-inch. The stamp I used is bigger than the cloud. I stamped on scrap paper because I knew part would hang over. I used Slate ink. I popped the large cloud, “WIDE” and “Wonderful” and the flowers up with 3-D foam tape for dimension.

The flowers gave me a chance to play with the ShinHan Touch Twin markers again. I used Lavender and Golden Yellow to try to recreate the look of pansies. I experimented with shading in the images I stamped from the discontinued Card Word Puzzle set. The way I liked best was to apply some marker ink to a dauber and daub it onto the image — heavier around the edges and lighter toward the center. The leaves are stamped in Ponderosa Pine from the retired February 2015 Stamp of the Month A Happy Hello. I originally wanted to do a series of flowers on stems and incorporate more of the Smoothie color from Wanderful. The hour grew late and I grew tired. Then I remembered the pansies!

I made those pansies at a crop. They were a make-and-take provided by my upline. I think that day we also colored on coffee filters with markers, then spritzed them with water to get them to bleed into a tie-dye pattern. But for this application White Daisy cardstock worked best. The petals are actually butterflies cut from the Art Philosophy cartridge! I have had them for 3-4 years in my stash, just waiting for the perfect chance to use them! Considering the photos on this layout are 10 years old, that should tell you something about me and how I scrap in random order as I get inspired.

If you’re looking for inspiration or if you want to take on this challenge that will stretch your imagination, head over to Heart 2 Heart! You have all month to link up your project. I can’t wait to see what in the world you come up with!

3 responses to “Welcome to the world, baby girl

Leave a Reply

