First Taste of Summer

What’s your favorite thing about summertime?

My family loves fresh fruit that’s available only seasonally. For this week’s post, I scrapped a photo of my daughter blissing-out while eating a slice of watermelon at a Memorial Day picnic 7 years ago.

She looks hot and sweaty and tired from playing as she takes a break with one of her favorite foods.

IMG_0946

I have wanted to make a page like this since I realized the cut-away pieces of a Cricut flower image looked like watermelon seeds. This is one time I cut an image to get the scraps.

When I was constructing my answer to this week’s challenge at Heart 2 Heart Challenges, I brushed up on some design elements of color. The challenge is Warm vs. Cool. If you think I juxtaposed the cool watermelon against a warm spring day, you’re not wrong. But primarily I was pairing the cool dark green with the warm dark pink paper. I think many scrapbookers pair warm and cool colors without thinking about it because it just looks good to their eye. I looked at a color wheel and found some examples online. I thought I was going to pair Barn Red with one of Close To My Heart’s blues. Then I remembered this watermelon photo when I was struck by the idea that red and green (even the Christmas shades) go together.

Cardstock: Ponderosa Pine, Colonial White and Black
Paper: CTMH’s “Taste of Summer” promotional paper pack for National Scrapbooking Month. Although this ended in May, you might be able to find it on eBay or from a consultant who has extras. You could certainly choose another printed pink paper or use cardstock in Ruby or Smoothie or another color.
Stamp set: The complementary set to Taste of Summer; also discontinued but probably still obtainable.
Cricut cartridges: Artiste page 33 for the journaling and title blocks and Serenade for the seeds and scalloped “bite” out of slice
Other tools: 3D foam tape to pop up the title block, journaling pen, sponge dauber
Inks: Pixie and Ponderosa Pine

How do you mix warm and cool? Please visit Heart 2 Heart Challenges for more inspiration or to share your creation. You have all month to link up your project, which must contain at least a little CTMH product.

 

One response to “First Taste of Summer

Leave a Reply

