Use your noodle — doodle!

 

When I was a kid my mom talked to her friends or sisters on the phone while doodling on the cover of the phone book. She would trace her initials and draw geometric shapes, usually with a blue pen. Doodling – or drawing more elaborate patterns and pictures known as Zentangles – is back in fashion and showing up on scrapbook pages. There are even stamps of doodles — Oodles of Doodles and Doodled Designs for those of us (OK, me) who feel like their freehand doodles don’t look right. Doodling is also the challenge this week at Heart2Heart Challenges.

For this page, I was inspired by the doodles on my notebooks — although, admittedly, I would have doodled my boyfriend’s name on my notebook cover more in junior high (aka middle school) than high school. I had outgrown the practice by the time I met my high school sweetheart, and eventual husband, when I was a sophomore. Still, I knew I had the perfect photo for a layout about the early days of our relationship.

doodling

The photo does not appear on this layout because it’s in storage – along with 95 percent of our belongings. We are renting a house until the loan closes on a house we’re buying. But I know the size of the photo and the colors in it so I made a photo mat to hold its place on a layout that is supposed to look like a stack of notebooks and folders.

The journaling box sheet of notebook paper is cut and stamped using Close To My Heart’s exclusive Cricut collection Artbooking. I cut the notebook edge with a punch I’ve had for years. CTMH’s Silver Shimmer Trim is layered behind it to mimic the metal spiral binding.

New color, Sapphire, makes an appearance in this layout as the base cardstock. Retired paper pack Chalk It Up shows up as a doodle-covered folder and in the photo mat. To me, the houndstooth print from Zoe looks like a Composition Notebook cover – at least colorful modern ones; black and white was the only choice when I was a kid in the ’80s. I popped the edges of the layers up with foam tape for definition. I chose Glacier as my top notebook cover because I wanted viewers to be able to see the doodles.

You can tell I cheated. I did doodle mine and my husband’s names but I used a small heart and the word “EVER” from the Zoe scrapbooking workshop stamp set. I used the small hearts, atom and chemistry sentiment stamps from the new Positive Chemistry set. That inspired me to make this a science notebook theme, so with the Typography Alphabet I added “CHEM 101” to the top.

You should go see how other H2H Design Team members doodled on their projects this week, then share your own by linking up. You have the rest of this month to play along. Remember to include at least some Close To My Heart product on your projects.

Leave a Reply

