Gifts from the Heart

When I was younger I liked wrapping packages and getting creative with the bows and ribbons. One year I cut a foam ball in half, poked toothpicks in Ferrero Rocher hazelnut candies (wrapped) and attached them to the ball. Then I added ribbon and mounted it on my mom’s gift. It was two presents in one.

This year I want to get back to creatively topping my packages. But I also want the decoration to be functional … reusable, even.

This week’s theme at Heart 2 Heart Challenges is “Gifts From The Heart”. I made gift tags that can be reused — as ornaments!

12316286_10206544131176690_3743773160060289712_n

I cut the mittens from White Pines paper and Glacier cardstock using the Artiste Cricut cartridge. You may not be able to tell but to make them puffy I stuffed a tuft of cotton ball between the halves before I glued them shut. I stitched “MOM” by punching holes using the paper piercing tool kit and the ruler. Then I sewed between the dots using a few strands from the Poppy Thick Twine. The twine is also what ties the mittens together.

This is my final project for the Heart 2 Heart Challenges Design Team. I was proud to serve this year. I’m taking some time off to move to a new town. (I will still be selling Close To My Heart.) I hope to re-join a Heart 2 Heart team sometime in the future.

I look forward to seeing YOUR work on the blog — just make a project that fits the theme “Gifts From the Heart” using at least some products from Close To My Heart. Link it up at Heart 2 Heart and you may win some recognition.

Merry Christmas!

One response to “Gifts from the Heart

Leave a Reply

